TASERS Are Us!

gameday2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

perstaser_002unit

 

http://www.taser.com/products/consumers/Pages/C2.aspx

It’s bad enough that any moron in this country can obtain a gun if he/she tries hard enough.  What’s even worse, to my dismay, is that now, any moron can buy a TASER.  I woke up early one morning and to my chagrin there was an infomercial on the air peddling fear and this new handheld compact torture device.  I do have to admit that it looks nice and it even comes with a holster that someone might mistake for a cell phone holder.

The problem that I have with this is the same problem that I have with guns in general.  Too many unqualified people own guns.  Too many people in trying to defend themselves with guns often end up dead trying to protect themselves with them.  Remember, the bad guy already has his drawn.  Bring a TASER to a gunfight and the chances of you ending up in the morgue go up exponentially! 

The company that is marketing the device at least has some sound advice.  They say that after you TASE some poor fool,  run to safety.  Never mind your TASER, we will replace it for free with a police report.  What is this country coming to?  What’s next?  AK47’s at the flea market?  FDR said that “First of all, let me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is fear itself – nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance. !”  Just take the fear is fear itself part.

Anyway, my point is when is enough going to be enough?  We’re Americans after all, we kick ass and take names!  I don’t need a TASER or a gun to live my life.  I live my life without fear.  I believe in what Martin Luther King said shortly before he was assassinated, don’t quote me exactly but it was something to the effect that “Longevity has it’s place, but tonight I am not fearing any man…!”  A TASER would not have reached James Earl Ray anyway.

Let’s stop being a nation of punks and buying into the fear perpetrated by Bush and his cronies over the last eight years.  Live your life like an American who expects to live until a ripe old age.  It really doesn’t matter what you do to try and prolong it because when it is time for your ticket to be punched, lights out!   

4 Comments

Filed under Society

4 responses to “TASERS Are Us!

  1. spencercourt

    I guess the Geek Squad returned your laptop since this post looks “normal” (photo, not too short) but in case they haven’t, I have a suggestion…TASE them! 😉

  2. eehard

    I had to give the Geeks a pass. My motherboard gave birth to an unuseable computer. Now I have to figure out what type of new computer I want to buy.

  3. spencercourt

    Well this is a good time to buy! I’m sure there are all sorts of deals to be had, especially online.

    I got my good deal on a new computer *after* Christmas, so that’s an option too. Good hunting!

  4. We’ll be discussing Taser safety at 5 PM New York time Friday December 19 on News Talk Online on Paltalk.com.

    Please go to http://www.garybaumgarten.com and click on the Join The Show link to participate.

    Thanks,

    Gary

Leave a Reply

