Images!

gameday2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

michelleessence

 

If  you are like me, you can’t do anything in the morning until you get at least one cup of coffee in you.  So don’t you just hate it when you wake up and discover that you don’t have any coffee or half & half in the house?  Half asleep I made the trip around the corner to Winn Dixie to buy some half & half.  I really don’t like Winn Dixie because their prices are too high and the name of the store reminds me that I could have been calling someone massa and picking cotton. 

As I was making my way to the checkout line I happened to glance at a magazine stand and saw this month’s edition of Essence magazine with Michelle Obama on the cover.  For the uninitiated, Essence magazine is geard towards African-American women.  What held my attention was how beautiful and elegant Michelle Obama really is.  And my first coherent thought of the day was “Black is Beautiful!”

So I got home,  put my coffee on,  and turned on the television to watch CNN Sunday Morning.  They were running one of Jeanne Moo’s pieces on the top ten mugshots of 2008.  Moos is CNN’s reporter known for her offbeat and whacky stories mostly done in the New York area.  So when she got to her number two mug shot I nearly spit out my coffee.  Remember the liquored up woman dressed up in a cow suit harassing kids?

madcow

Meet Michele Allen. The Ohio woman, 32, was arrested Saturday night after she got liquored up and began chasing kids and blocking traffic in her Middletown neighborhood. Allen was wearing a cow costume at the time of her arrest, as can be seen in the below mug shots (one of which includes a clear shot of Allen’s udder). A police report does not indicate why she was so dressed. Allen pleaded guilty yesterday to disorderly conduct and sentenced to a month in the local lockup.  http://www.thesmokinggun.com/archive/years/2008/0930082cow1.html

What a striking contrast of images.  Images are powerful.  It’s funny how images are used.  But then again it’s not!  I’ve seen Ms. Allen’s premature Halloween mug shot on t.v. for months.  I have yet to see a story on television on the Obama piece.  Thank you Essence for a striking portrait of the future first lady.  As for the other,  it’s udderly ridiculous!

5 Comments

Filed under Society

5 responses to “Images!

  1. fakename2

    As for the coffee issue, been there done that. I drink coffee black most of the time, but I’ve been known to drive to the local McDonald’s for coffee (yech!). Now that particular McD’s sits on the parking lot of Winn-Dixie, but I was too desperate to actually park, go in the grocery store, buy coffee, and bring it back home and then brew it. I’m surprised I could drive as far as McD’s without having a wreck since I’d had no coffee. At least now, there’s a Starbucks in the neighborhood.
    As for Udder Woman, I’m still picking myself up from the floor. Somehow I missed that one…
    As for Michelle Obama, what an incredible depiction of her. Tall (“stately” is the word that comes to mind), elegant, graceful, stylish, intelligent, articulate, soft-spoken, devoted to her family and passionate about justice. Yes, I’m pretty sure I hate her. Just kidding! It’s been a long time since we’ve been treated to a First Lady with such breathtaking qualities–and maybe never. Jackie K. had all those qualities too, but was more retiring.

  2. eehard

    Udder woman is a disgrace! But I have to admit when I first saw her I laughed my ass of. When I get drunk and put on my cow suit, I stay in my house. Michelle O is wonderful. Barack is a lucky man.

  3. spencercourt

    Udder woman received her 15 minutes of notoriety! I wonder where she got the cow suit….

    Fakename… did you already go through all the Mocha Java you bought at World Market?!

  4. spencercourt

    Oh, did you see the new E4BH / C4BW poster Sunday at TD0?

    At about 7 PM, she had a post in every slot but the first and last!

  5. eehard

    I didn’t see any post from e4bh but 2dimples4u has eight of the ten spots right npe.

Leave a Reply

