The C.I.A. Exposed by Jane Mayer!

gameday2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Politics, Society

4 responses to “The C.I.A. Exposed by Jane Mayer!

  1. As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words. The NY Times today published an article today about the investigation into this whole thing, which I didn’t realize had been going on since 2004. It says prosecution is unlikely. I don’t see how it’s avoidable.
    Tom Friedman, in his op-ed piece last weekend, said it would ultimately lead to the President, and such a prosecution would tear the country apart. I was shocked at the time, but I’m leaning in his direction to an extent. I don’t think Bush should be prosecuted, but I think the lawyers and Cheney should be. I don’t think the country would be one bit upset about that.

  2. eehard

    I have to agree with you about Cheney. However, something I heard from CNN’s legal analyst Toobin disturbs me. He said that you can’t prosecute someone for giving bad legal advice. So the lawyers are likely to get a pass.

    I think I heard today that the Justice Dept. has decided not to pursue the lawyers. But somewhere down the line, someone has to be held responsible.

  3. The law can and should be changed. There is nothing “magical” about law. A fallible human wrote it. I have little regard for the law because it is the law. We anarchists obey our own laws.
    If I choose to obey society’s laws, it because I’ve not found a reason not to obey it…yet. And when I do have a reason, I will ignore the law.

    If all laws disappeared overnight, only a small minority of folks would change their behavior. That small minority is who the law is for…to punish. But we do not need law to punish. If it had been my daughter/sister, etc OJ murdered, I’d have taken out a contract on him. I think it’d have been easy to do.

  4. eehard

    Anarchist, we’re going to work on those poker laws you want changed.

Leave a Reply

