The Death of Single Payer!

gameday2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  healthcare

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday was a sad day for me.  I knew that it was coming.  I just wouldn’t accept it until I heard the man say it.  Yesterday the man said it.  He said something to the effect that since we are not building a system from scratch, we pretty much have to use what Americans have come to expect and that is employer provided health care.  Shame on you Barack Obama!  You have caved to the insurance industry.  Those bastards have come up with a plan to save 2 trillion dollars over ten years.  Yeah right!  This is like giving an alcoholic the keys to your bar and telling him to clean up.  You end up getting cleaned out!

To be fair to Obama, the President does not write legislation.  That job falls to Congress, and in the Senate, the man calling the shots is Senator Max Baucus (D-MT).  Senator Baucus is the powerful chairman of the Senate Finance Committee which oversees health programs under the Social Security Act and health programs financed by a specific tax or trust fund.  According to Consumer Watchdog, Senator Max Baucus (D-MT), chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, has received more campaign contributions from the health insurance and pharmaceutical industries than any other current Democratic member of the House or Senate; the third highest contributions of any member of Congress.  See the conflict of interest?

Friday’s edition of the New York Times explains how the current plan is shaping up.  The more I read, the more disgusted I got.  The Democrats are going to fuck things up simply because they are Democrats.  And this is where I blame Obama.  As the head of the party, he needs to make good on his promise of getting the special interest groups out of policy making.  If it’s good for them, how in the hell is it going to be good for us?  There is no incentive for the insurance companies to make this work.

Fortunately, for me, I will finally start using the Veterans Administration for my health carewhich is a form of single payer.  I earned it, I might as well use it.  The Democrats need to look at that model and that of Medicare.  Medicaid should be abolished altogether.  Ones social status should not affect ones health care.  But in the end it appears that we are going to end up with another convoluted government program.  Obama wins either way.  He can alway put the blame on Congress for delivering an imperfect program yet take all the credit for delivering something.

12 Comments

Filed under Business, Politics, Society

12 responses to “The Death of Single Payer!

  1. I don’t understand this issue very well. You would think I would have paid more attention, given that this is an important issue to me personally.

  2. MzCynic

    I am extremely upset that Sen. Baucus allows the insurance industry to sit at the table and not the supporteers of single payer insurance, which is Medicare. I watched as the doctors and nurses were taken out of the Committee room one at a time by law enforcement as they politely brought up this subject.

    I know of 2 Tallahassee doctors who support single payer health insurance, Dr. Ray Bellamy and Dr. Kenneth Smith-Quinnel (sp?). Hopefully there are more.

    If I was younger and healthier, I would get something started, like many protests and a letter writing campaign to Fl’s delegation and also to those running in 2010. Community Organizer I once was!

    Anyone out there who has any idea’s about what we can do? Please post them here. Thanks.

  3. eehard

    Hey Cynic, I agree. So much for Hope and change at this point. The only thing that the insurance companies will drive us to is dope and spare change!

  4. Thanks ee. I understand it better now, but I don’t understand what all the objections are. Certainly I understand the insurance companies’ objections–loss of profits.

  5. eehard

    You kind of like answered your own question Fakename!

  6. I keep telling you, Fakename has a mind like a steel trap.

  7. ptfan1

    Here’s the fundamental weakness of that fantasy hb 676 video. “from each according to his means, to each according to his needs”

  8. > another convoluted government program.

    Are there any other kinds of government programs? lol!

  9. eehard

    pt, the video is just that. i think that if they really wanted to, they could come up with a decent program. the insurance industry is nothing more than paying the mob protection money!

  10. eehard

    anarchist, the government cheese program is the only one not convoluted.

Leave a Reply

