Devyn!

This past Saturday, my nephew, Devyn Lamar Hardy was the victim of a senseless and heinous crime!  He was shot in the face by a couple of Tampa thugs trying to steal whatever he may have had in his pocket at the time.  Tampa police have tried to characterize this incident as a drug transaction gone bad!  Why is it that whenever a black youth is shot for no apparent reason, that it must be the result of a drug deal?  That is contrary to everything that I know about Devyn.

Funka, Wop Wop, or Dippy as he has been known as was a highly recruited football and soccer player coming out of high school.  Much to his credit, he rejected athletic scholarships and instead chose to receive an academic scholarship to attend the University of South Florida, majoring in engineering.  Devyn is listed in Who’s Who, graduated high school with honors, participated in the Florida vs. Georgia All Star Game, and has a host of other awards and accomplishments.

When I heard that he had been shot, something inside of me died!  I am still trying to come to grips with that, but I chalk it up to one thing.  I love all of my nieces and nephews as if they were my own children.  I still can’t reconcile if that is a universal feeling or something unique to me.  If I had my way, I would have been the one taking that bullet for him!  That’s not bravado, but a simple fact that I know that my life is half over….. his is just beginning!  I would make that trade any day of the week.

Enough about me, this is about him.  Son, I know the road that you must now take is going to be tough to hoe, but you come from good stock.  Your bloodline is a good one and through the strength that you have inherited and the work ethic that you have been given, you will come back to us better, bigger, and stronger than ever…

I’ve never been a big advocate of the human race in general, but I believe in you! I know that from this tragedy that you will find everything that your heart desires.  I also remember that about seventeen years ago, I had to come rescue you from that daycare prison that they put you in, the high chair with the bar that kept you from moving…. You were a biter… Bite for life!

I love you kid! Come home!

12 Comments

Filed under Family

12 responses to “Devyn!

  1. artsi3

    Bravo Uncle … I hope you send this to the newspaper that so easily smeared Devyn’s name. All I have heard for years is news about Devyn’s accomplishments, not only academically and on the fields of soccer and football, but also creatively … when he was in a leading role in a children’s play at FAMU. Devyn has always been a WINNER! I join you in prayers and support for his complete recovery and renewed strength for his joy of life!

  2. eehard

    Thank you so much! He means so much to a lot of different people!

  3. Liztomania

    I agree with artsi3 this ought to be sent to the newspaper. They need to be corrected for sensationalizing this without all of the facts. I am glad that he is on the road to recovery, and I know he will feel proud that his Uncle put a positive spotlight on such an honorable young man. I think his motto should be in the days to come…better, bigger, stronger…

  4. Lana Hill

    Dont forget NIck his plans after USF are to attend M I T, not many thugs there. The newspaper needs to examine their own troubled lives before looking at all young black guys as “druggies” be it a dealer or a seller. I LOVE you Dev now and always. Love auntie

  5. Josie Dugans West

    I’m sorry to hear he’s always been a great kid and he went to school with my son how’s he doing?

  6. PEEJAAYE

    MY PRAYERS WITH YOU AND YOUR FAMILY..

  7. Deb Dennis Perry

    As others have mentioned, please forward this to the media…This young man doesn’t deserve the characterizations that are being attributed to him simply because of his physical appearance. All “brown skinned men with tattoos and dreads aren’t druggies or thugs” states this Mom of a “brown skinned man with tattoos and dreads”. I had the pleasure of meeting him his Freshman year at USF. When his Mom told him about her high school colleague that had a son playing soccer at USF, he made a point of coming to a match and introducing himself to me, demonstrating such obedience and character it warmed my heart. My heart goes out to you and your family – staying prayerful for a speedy and complete recovery!

    • eehard

      I fully intend to address the media and the police. Right now my focus is helping Devyn to get well. Today I am more concerned with his health than his reputation. The truth is coming….

  8. Tascha Holmes

    We are all PRAYING for DEVYN!! You are right he is a very special person to so many people. Thank you so much for your words.

  9. Jacquie

    Nick this is a great testimony of who you are and who your nephew is. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Kimberley Muir Hardy

    From the little KSTM …Kimmy, Shiloh, Tesfaye and Mahari in Jamaica!!!!
    Shiloh says i miss you, Mahari says he feels sad that this happened to you and he is coming to see you soon, Tesfaye is Sleeping 🙂
    With Magic Healing and Love
    Always Proud of you, your the Star of the Family.
    Not one man that takes up Council to destroy any part of our family will be able to stand in the judgement and shall perish for all to witness this is a dynamic set of People whose blessing will continually flow
    Never ending.
    Wishing you winds of Joy inbetween this all,
    “Some will hate you pretend they love you
    your worst enemy could be your best friend and your best friend your worst enemy ( Robert Nesta Marley)
    Seek Knowledge in the Kingdom First
    and all else wiil be added, i am counting on you
    you know from Seven you been my partner always reasoning on some outerspace type stuff.
    Let me tell you this hunny
    Dont even worry those bredrin who did this done dead spiritually already, therefore just sit back and watch them in wisdoms seat.

    Aunty Kimmy

Leave a Reply

