The Crying Game!

The Scream, Edvard Munch

I’ve never been a crier. Didn’t believe in it. In fact, if memory serves me correctly, I have cried approximately three times in my life prior to Saturday.  The first time that I cried was the day I was born and the only reason for that was the doctor slapped me and caught me off guard.  The second time I cried was at my father’s funeral service, the second one in Washington, DC.  You have to give up a few tears for daddy!  Finally, I shed a tear when Barack Obama accepted the Democratic nomination in Grant Park back in 2008.  Yes sir, real men don’t cry!

That was until I got the news that my nephew had been shot.  Then I cried like a baby.  I cried because he was hurt. I cried because I couldn’t protect him. I cried because he was alive and I had no idea of the severity of his injuries.  I cried because his future was so bright and full of promise.  I cried because I was mad.  I cried when I found out he was going to make a full recovery.  I cried for two families that will never be the same.  I cried for the man who attacked my nephew.  I cried because violence makes me sick!

I’ve cried so much lately and I’m getting pretty good at it.  Brother, I’m in big trouble if I see a “save the puppies” or “feed the children” commercial.  But the upside is that I felt better after crying.  It is a natural and free stress reliever.  I can’t imagined how I would have internalized my grief had I not found an outlet for it.  And I am not sure that I even want to know the answer.  All I know now is that I will not try to stifle myself the next time my eyes want to turn on the faucets.  But at the same time, I hope that I will never again have to experience something like this.

Oh, real men do cry!  They just don’t let you see it!

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Health

4 responses to “The Crying Game!

  1. artsi3

    The Universal Force that we call God is infinitely wiser than men. God gave us eyes to see and tear ducts to cry for a reason; not crying might be functional in some situations, but men and society are not wiser than God; I am a woman who cries a lot and I also cried for Devyn for all the reasons you so powerfully listed above. Cry on!

  2. Nick, I was going to leave you a message after the blog about your nephew. I procrastinated. So sorry to hear of the horrible thing done to your nephew. It sounds as if he is someone I would want to meet (as long as he was an Obama fan)..

    What a remarkable young man who has more support than he realizes, me included. I have never gotten a chance to meet you in person and you sound like a remakable person, too. He will survive and go on to greater things in his life.

    Please keep us in touch with your blogs throughout his life. I am sending positive energy to him and to your family to help you get through this ordeal.

    Many Blessings.

Leave a Reply

