Miracle?

“There are only two ways to live your life.  One is as though nothing is a miracle.  The other is as though everything is a miracle.” – Albert Einstein

I have not always been the evil Atheist that some people make me out to be.  In fact, I was indoctrinated into religion at an early age by my grandmother Thelma Clarke.  Thelma, or T.C. as we like to call her, made it her business to see that her grandchildren were raised as good little Episcopalians.  Every Sunday, my brother, sisters, and I served Christ as acolytes, singing in the children’s choir, and attending Sunday school.

It was during these Sunday School classes that I was first introduced to the concept of miracles.  Dictionary.com defines a miracle as:  an effect or extraordinary event in the physical world that surpasses all known human or natural powers and is ascribed to a supernatural cause.  Supernatural is used usually as an euphemism for God.  Along my own personal journey through this short thing that we call life, I came to be a skeptic of miracles and the supernatural.  For me, logic and reason control my thought processes.  I have to be able to see and touch something in order to believe that it exists.  If you will, I need empirical evidence…

That was until today when Devyn walked across the threshold and I was able to touch him and hug him for the first time since his shooting.  It was in that instant that all of T.C.’s making me go to church came back to haunt me.  I was at once grateful for the turn of events that allowed Devyn to come home.  I am talking about the incompetence of his attackers and grateful for the angle of the bullet that entered his head.  Logic tells me that he is fortunate to be alive because of his will to live and the way that the event unfolded.

What I am having difficulty with is discounting the prayers and well wishes of all of you that have come to support Devyn and my family as we deal with this tragedy.  I can’t very well tell you to take your “God bless you and your family” and that “We are praying for him” and tell you to blow it out of your asses because I don’t know if it was that, in effect,  that saved him.

There is no proof that God exists or does not exist! I suspect that this argument will continue when we have all ceased to exist.  The only thing that I know is that when I saw my nephew today, I was overjoyed and filled with a feeling of love that I didn’t know that resided within me.  Was it just life playing  itself  out?  Or was it just a miracle?

Today, I don’t care what anyone believes.  Be it in a supernatural being or a miracle that brought Devyn home or a total act of randomness of the physical  universe is irrelevant.  I am a happy man!  This is a time for celebration.  Whether his being home is a miracle or just plain fate is a debate for someone who gives a shit.  And right now, I dont…

P.S.  While Devyn is growing stronger physically, we have yet to discover the psychological issues that he will have to deal with.  As always, the family continues to appreciate your love and support.  We will continue to update you with Devyn’s recovery!  Peace and love to all!

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Religion

4 responses to “Miracle?

  1. Bill Clarke

    I am one of the troop of grandchildren that TC sometimes had to drag to CALVARY on each and every Sunday unless you were sick you went. I am grateful that she exposed me to FATHER WEST and his way of citing Bible by book verse and line without one in front of him. I too sang in the choir both children’s and adult .and I carried the CROSS as an acolyte,probably because I was the tallest. That is how I was introduced to JESUS along with my mom,brother,sister and as I call them the FOUR as this was before the HARDY’S moved to Tallahassee. Nickey,Lynne,Karen and Jay.I have to sat I feel it brought us all closer as a family and believe me we were ,My intrest in music was nurtured,and I continued in choir and then in band and orchestra playing the brass AGAIN tall I could carry a full size tuba at 12..
    Thank you TC FOR YOUR GIVING US A CHANCE TO KNOW JESUS. Today I still Love JESUS because he loves me. I do not go to church ,I am spiritual and my church I carry it with me. I PRAY for us as a family and our friends. DEVYN HAD GOMEZ his guardian angel there to intercede,the prayers of his family and many friends asked GOD Whatever name you may call him to help and he answered and DEVYN with a strong spirit and love of life is healing .AND AS I WAS TAUGHT TO SAY .. THE PEACE OF THE LORD BE ALWAYS WITH YOU. Cousin BILL

  2. Liztomania

    I am certain that his triumph is indeed your own. This is wonderful news! Miracles aren’t usually grandiose; they are small seemingly insignificant things or instances that end up magnificent in nature…

  3. I’ve believed for many decades that experience is the most important factor in our beliefs.

Leave a Reply

